AGM Minutes April 5 2019



The 41st annual PEI Roadrunners annual meeting and awards presentation were held on April 5, 2019 at Harmony House in Hunter River.

There were approximately 70 members and guests in attendance.

The President’s report highlighted the continued strong membership (about 240 members) of the Club, the importance and dedication of the many volunteers, the emergence of the Youth Running Series and the need for continued vigilance on safety.  It was also noted the availability of insurance is likely to be an issue for all sports organizations in the near future and retention of members would be a focus of the Executive.


The Treasurer’s report showed a surplus of $ 820 (+/-) and a bank balance of $ 5,200(+/-). Fees will remain unchanged for 2019. 


Following a brief presentation by Maureen Peters, the meeting agreed to the following amendment to the Roadrunner Constitution:

Article V, Officers and Directors be amended to include

(7) a representative of the Youth Running Series


The meeting approved the following 2019 Executive

President        Kevin McCarville    Vice-President        Ensor McNeil

Treasurer        Alan Easton        Secretary        Pam Paquet

Past President        Janet-Norman Bain    Youth Series Rep    Maureen Peters

Kings County Rep    Stanley Chaisson    Queens County Rep     Cheri Gallant

Prince County Rep    Stacey Kuypers        Directors at large    Ewen Stewart,  Ivan Gallant


Doris Ward, Roadrunner member and Canada’s 2018 personal Training Specialist of the Year, was guest speaker for the event.

The evening ended with a brief awards ceremony and the presentation of two honourary (lifetime ) memberships – Francis Fagan and Mike ‘Rocketman’ Meacher.

Award winners included:

Male Roadrunner of year    Dan McCarthy        Female Roadrunner of the Year       Doris Ward

Most improved Runner        David Boyce        Inspirational Runner of the year      Lana Chaisson

Rookie of the year        Nick Robertson        Volunteer of the year              Michael Irvine

ADL/Sport PEI Senior Male    Alex Bain          ADL/Sport PEI Senior Female              Leanne Vessey

ADL/Sport PEI Junior Male    Samuel Peterson     ADL/Sport PEI Junior  Female Sophie Peterson